Hartzel Automotive | Auto Repair at 510 California Ave - Sand City CA - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number

Hartzel Automotive

5.0
99 reviews
Auto Repair
 510 California Ave, Sand City, CA 93955US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(831) 394-6002

Write a review

All reviews summary

5.0
99 reviews
599
  
4 
  
3 
  
2 
  
1 
  
  • 59 reviews5.0
  • 31 reviews5.0
  • 9 reviews5.0
5on Business Actualization, Jul 14, 2018
Excellent service as usual! more »
Business Response:
Andrew, thank you for your support.
5on Business Actualization, Jun 08, 2018
Always helpful demonstrating knowledge of my concerns for my Mists. Does not push me into service I do not need. more »
Business Response:
Thank you Dale. I really enjoy working with you and your Miata.
5on Facebook, Jun 05, 2018
Barry
Is the best
Very professional, honest
Only mechanic I would trust with a Saab
Been using him for years
Best regards
Martin & family
more »
Business Response:
Thank you Martin. I truly appreciate your business over the years.
5on Facebook, May 23, 2018
Barry is the only mechanic I want to see. Not only he has worked on my many cars through the years providing fixes to problems that even the manufacturer refused to work on and, he also saved me from buying potential lemons by listing all the design flaws of certain models I was considering. He has been and still is my mechanic of choice when the car he helped me select needs occasional work and, thanks to him, I don't own a car whose engine could just crash beyond repair as a result of a simple broken timing belt. more »
5on Facebook, May 10, 2018
I recently had my 92 SAAB 900 serviced with Barry and his team of mechanics. They understand the uniqueness of these vehicles. On top of the work that was authorized, his team was able to repair other items that contributed to why it went into the shop. Barry's estimate was very fair for the work performed. Barry is Honest and cares about service he is performing on your vehicle. I am glad to have found Hartzell Automotive. more »
Business Response:
Thanks you so much Michael. We love working with classic Saab 900's. I'm so happy that you are pleased with the work we performed.
5on Facebook, Apr 26, 2018
It is so nice to deal with real profesinals who really know what thay are doing and care about you and your car. I can not give a highr recommendation. more »
Business Response:
Thank you Kevin! We love working with Miata enthusiasts like you.
5on Facebook, Jan 30, 2018
We have been taking our Subaru's to Hartzel since we moved to the peninsula over 12 years ago. The work and service has been outstanding. As others have said I feel lucky to find an independent and trustworthy garage that provides such a high level of service. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Steve!
5on Business Actualization, Jan 05, 2018
I had a check engine light come on and that was scary. It turned out to only be some dirty sensors and I had the car back by noon. Once again Barry Hartzel took good care of me.
Thanks
more »
Business Response:
Thanks David. It has been a pleasure to know and serve you all these years.
5on Facebook, Dec 19, 2017
I hace been going to Barry for 20 years and have found him to be honest,

knowledgable and professional and always respectful...I always enjoyed going there
Jan
more »
Business Response:
Thank you Jan. Have a happy holiday season.
5on Facebook, Dec 08, 2017
I had a wonderful experience with very knowledgable people.
Fixed my window wonderfully, working better than ever.
Will going back when I need maintenance tune-up!
more »
5on Business Actualization, Dec 08, 2017
Went very well, kind, understanding of what will be needed to do job.
Window works better than ever!😉
more »
Business Response:
Thanks Michael. Glad we could sort out the window for you.
5on Facebook, Dec 01, 2017
Outstanding service for my Hyundai. I feel very fortunate to have found an independent , highly professional and experienced car service and garage. Mr. Hartzel and mechanics discovered a small vital leak of fluid in the drive train. I was able to point the leak out and get the problem addressed in my warrantee. You can only get the best efforts of decades of excellent experience from Hartzel Automotive.I note From Mr Hartzell that he is a part time teacher for automotive mechanics at Gavilan Community College more »
Business Response:
Thanks for the kind words Terri. I am so happy that you are pleased with our work. Thanks too for mentioning my teaching. The college that I teach part time at is actually Monterey Peninsula College. Gavilan has not contacted me yet for a job😀
5on Facebook, Nov 27, 2017
more »
5on Business Actualization, Nov 13, 2017
Great work, always on time and as promised. Barry is someone you can trust, all too rare in the industry. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Chris. It has been great taking care of your Mazdas and your Volvo for you. Thank you for your ongoing business and support.
5on Facebook, Nov 09, 2017
Won't go anywhere else. Barry and Brian are the best! more »
Business Response:
Thanks so much Ben. We truly appreciate your support, your business and your friendship.
5on Facebook, Oct 14, 2017
Barry knows his Miatas. I do most of my own work as good trustworthy mechanics are expensive and hard to come by but this shop is the exception. Had a problem with my Miata and couldn't figure it out, took it here and they had the problem identified in no time at all. Highly recommended. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Craig. It is never pleasant to have your car break down, especially when your are out of town. I'm glad we were able to get you back on the road.
5on Facebook, Oct 10, 2017
I have been taking my Saabs to Barry for 12 years now. He and his staff are excellent mechanics but more importantly they understand how to fix and troubleshoot cars based on experience and not just the technical manuals. As a result, Barry is able to come up with much more cost effective solutions than taking the car to a dealer or a generic shop. While I don't have other types of cars, I would not hesitate to take different models to him knowing he will give me an honest assessment of whether he can do the work.

My most recent repair involved replacement of the front axle. Barry was able to find a part that ended up saving me almost 60% off what I would have paid had I taken it to another shop.
more »
Business Response:
Thanks so much Glenn. It has been great taking care of your Saabs over the years. I really appreciate your business.
5on Business Actualization, Oct 06, 2017
Excellent customer service. Super happy with my experience with Barry. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Zak. I'm sure you're going to have a blast with your new Miata.
5on Facebook, Oct 05, 2017
Barry was very accommodating on short notice, quickly diagnosed and solved the problem and got my car back to me in a couple of hours. I'm very appreciative! more »
Business Response:
Thank you so much Carol. It is a pleasure to take care of your Subaru for you.
5on Facebook, Sep 29, 2017
Honest and trustworthy are just a couple of words I would use to describe Barry. I've only had my Saab for about a year and a half and Hartzel Automotive has taken very good care of it. Early on, I had an oil change and brake check done by another place that I trusted. They did the oil change and told me that I needed my front and rear brakes done soon. Shortly after that I found Hartzel and took my car in for a brake check. He said that my front brakes were fine and that I only needed rear brakes! When he did the next oil change he found that the other place had not put the oil filter on properly! I appreciate the great service. I'll never take my car anywhere else! more »
5on Facebook, Sep 23, 2017
Simply the best! Honest, efficient and looking out for his clients best interest. Trust Barry with your automotive needs. You won't be disappointed. more »
Business Response:
Thank you Sydney. It is really nice to know you and Tom. Thanks for entrusting us with the care of your Subaru.
5on Facebook, Sep 18, 2017
more »
Business Response:
Thank you Frank.
5on Facebook, Sep 17, 2017
Barry has incredible integrity and work ethic. There couldn't be a more honest and trustworthy car specialist out there. When it comes to the cars he works on, his knowledge, experience, and problem solving is second to none. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Carey. You have been entrusting us with your Saabs for years. I truly appreciate your business and your review.
5on Facebook, Sep 14, 2017
Highest possible recommendations for fast, friendly, efficient, honest, careful service! No frills like fancy waiting room with TV, car loaners, or drop-off service; but no unnecessary work or inflated prices, either. more »
Business Response:
Thanks again Wendel for your support. It is a pleasure to do business with you.
5on Facebook, Sep 05, 2017
Today was the first time in meeting Barry and having my Subaru in his shop. Within a short time he had diagnosed the problem and communicated with me that a little noise didn't justify spending a ton of money at this time. I feel so happy to know my car is in good hands in the future. Honest, professional, and number one customer service. more »
Business Response:
Thanks Karen. It was a pleasure to meet you yesterday. I look forward to taking care of your Subaru for many years.
Page 1 of 2

Google reviews summary

5.0
59 reviews
559
  
4 
  
3 
  
2 
  
1 
  

Contact

Edit
510 California Ave, Sand City, CA 93955
Auto Repair
Today 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

About

Edit
SUBARU, MAZDA, SAAB, LEXUS, INFINITI and JAGUAR automobile service and repair. Hartzel Automotive provides maintenance from basic oil and filter services up to and including major component overhauls.

Barry Hartzel established Hartzel Automotive in 1984. Hartzel Automotive provides excellence in auto repair and maintenance based on Barry's experience as both a professional auto racing crew chief and driver.
more »

Request appointment

Date
Time :